Magalawa Island in Solo

I was sitting on a bench, browsing a travel magazine, and watching people enjoy their time on the beach while their boisterous laughter filled the humid air. There were times I eavesdropped on interesting conversations of groups not too far away from my back which in turn made me smile and quip unheeded words.

Tourists. Yes, they were. They came from other provinces and cities to experience what my province has in store for them.

While most of them were hustling things, I preferred to stay in one corner relishing my seclusion and the placid world I just discovered. The afternoon atmosphere didn’t bother my mood as I continued doing nothing and not minding anyone or anything. For the first time in my life, all I had to do that fleeting moment was to think of myself. And it really felt liberating.

After a couple of minutes, I became envious and tired of watching them do it. I quickly ran to the shaded part of the island as fast as I could, placed my backpack under a Camachile  tree, took my shoes and shirt off, prepared my camera’s shutter, and dipped into the waters.

It was my first taste of Magalawa island. And my first solo travel.

First solo trip

I could still vividly recall that the idea of traveling solo just crossed my mind when I read a post from a Facebook page of a group of Filipino travel bloggers encouraging its members to join the group’s monthly blog carnival which would tackle solo traveling. Since I am part of it, I was invited to write my own piece. Being a novice traveler, I really haven’t tried doing it. Thus, I shrugged the idea off since I have nothing to contribute.

White sand

Holy Week was just around the corner when thoughts about solo traveling elicited excitement on me. I knew I would be going to spend it in Zambales with my family and friends for a small get together which we usually do every year. Coincidentally, the release of collated travel stories of Filipino travelers would be after Holy Week. Maybe this was the chance I was looking for to finally go somewhere just by myself.

I did take the opportunity.

Trees in the island

This solo travel allowed me to savor liberty to its fullest. No one is really in control of your will to do things. Freedom isn’t bequeathed; it is something you have already acquired the moment you get to recognize your capacity to do a thing and to act on it. But your freedom could sometimes be restrained by your values or by people you choose to be with.  In a group trip for instance, although you have the power to exercise it, you hold it back sometimes because there is such a thing as consensus everyone should abide. If the rule of majority has to prevail, your freedom to differ from the decision of many has to be waived as well. Presuming that it isn’t inhumane, you have to follow what the group wants. If it’s about itinerary, you have to follow what’s in it.

Lunch time. Sweet and Sour Tuna and Shrimp Halabos

This is one thing I treasure about solo traveling. I get to enjoy my liberty without taking into consideration other people when it comes to choices of destination, activity, and even food to eat. All I have to do is to think of the best way of maximizing my time and the most rewarding experience I could give to myself. And if you have this pristine island to exercise this liberty, what else could go wrong?

Dinner: Ginataang tuna, sinigang na tuna and veggies

Dining area

This also gave me time to get to know myself better. When you are alone and run out of things to do, all the more you would have reasons to take a slice of solitude from this big world. Since you have all night to stare blank at the distant universe, thoughts would naturally permeate your peaceful mind. Believe me when I say that it is the best time to think of your future goals, find courage to transform dreams into reality, assess the decisions you’ve made in the past, and welcome vast possibilities and opportunities that would come your way.

Campers shaded by trees

While solitude acquires the ability to bring back memories of unwanted endings and beginnings, it also helps you deal with it, move forward to forget it, and reconcile with the many regrets which haunted you before. If at some point you realize that you’re faulty in some aspects of life, this private time would help reevaluate your values and succumb yourself to the process of change.

Blugreen waters of island

Since I am already in the island, I took advantage of its consoling powers, because solitude is best relished when you are consorted by a portion of galaxy occupying the dim skies above with waves rushing towards the fine shore just beneath your feet.

I spent most of my time here

Sometimes, along with your prejudices on the dangers of exploring the world alone, you also entertain the likelihood that it could be treacherous. However, in spite of the prevailing negative thoughts, you still prefer to go and take the first pace of being a solo traveler. Yes, you are aware of the dangers it could bring, but you know you can get away with it. This is what solo travel teaches— to trust yourself more.

When you are out there, it becomes you between the worlds; you between strangers; you between unknown possibilities. With all these uncertainties surrounding you, the only certain thing is that you are there ready to take whatever it is that life might possibly throw in that precise moment. Because you know you can handle anything.

Raft

Starfish. You can see many of them in the island

The execution of my plan to travel solo came into fruition at five in the morning with the goal of traversing the entirety of Zambales by hopping from one town to another to visit Catholic churches. Shortly before noon, I already boarded an ordinary bus that would bring me to Palauig where I could ride a boat to Magalawa island. My initial plan was to stay here for only 5 hours so I could still visit the remaining three towns of Zambales early morning next day and make it to Pangasinan before noon. However, upon setting foot on the white sand of the beach, all my plans got twisted.

Disparate to other beaches which are only good in pictures, this island is more beautiful in bare. And me, being here solo, made every moment perfect.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

I stayed at Armada’s resort.

RENTALS

Boat- P500 round trip for 5 pax. The island is only 10 minutes from the coast of Barangay Luan. If you arrange a special trip, you’d shoulder the whole amount. You could bargain with the owner.

Tent- P400 for 4 pax

Entrance fee- P300/overnight

I wasn’t able to get their room rates. I think it would be best if you contact them through their fanpage: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Magalawa-Island/204336016808?sk=notes

How to get to Magalawa island through a public transport:

1-      Ride a Victory Liner bus going to Sta. Cruz, Zambales. It’s a 5-hour trip. Fare is around 300-400.

2-      Get off at  Brgy. Pangolinan, Paluig, Zambales. Palauig is the 11th town of Zambales from Olongapo. You would see a Pangolinan sign at the right side of the highway.

3-      From Pangolinan, ride a tricycle to Brgy. Luan. Fare is P150 if you rent the whole tricycle. They usually allow maximum of two passengers per tricycle because of the rough roads going there. It would take you around 20-25 minutes before you reach Bgry. Luan.

4-      From Brgy. Luan, ride a boat to Magalawa island. It would take you only 10 minutes.

Contact person:

GRACE ARMADA (09209483303)