Near View of Antipolo

Next to December, May is my second hectic month. It’s the month where a lot of important occasions I used to attend fall—birthdays, family reunions, festivals, Mother’s day, get together with friends and out of town trips. Declining four invitations on the first week of May in pursuit of my plans somehow left me with a heavy heart. Not that I decided to pursue personal goals but because I somehow made people feel sad of my choices. However, some of my friends made me envious as well while I check on their pictures during a celebration recently held at my Alma Mater which would have made me nostalgic only if I preferred to join them. Truth is, I did not go somewhere far. I was only in Antipolo.

I boarded a jeepney going to Divisoria at 5:30 in the morning, got off at Monumento, rode LRT-1, alighted at Doroteo Jose station, walked for about 10 minutes, rode LRT-2 going to Santolan, from the last station I took a jeepney to Antipolo, Simbahan. At exactly 6:50 I was already walking on a busy street going to Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage Shrine.

Merchants and bystanders were alternately going with and against the rhythm of church goers. I joined them too. And no matter how hard I tried, I wasn’t able to escape the crowd. With the dynamic life around, as I drew nearer the cathedral’s vicinity, I couldn’t help but think that this place is very parallel to Quiapo in a lot of ways except for two things: first, it’s perched on a higher ground that veers someone away from a polluted environment; second, it feels safer here.

I’m sure she will make you smile

These ladies welcomed me with their comical auras

These lovely ladies made my morning and printed smile on my face when on earth they enter my mind throughout my entire stay in Antipolo. I was taking photos of a store beside them when the lady at the far left shouted at me, “Pogi, kunan mo naman ako dito.” And I couldn’t say no with the magic word she just mentioned referring at me, so I turned my head immediately and granted her request. I was even surprised with her amusing poses.

After several shots, she encouraged her peers to join her.  Look what I’ve got, a masterpiece of aged but unblemished beauties mimicking comical postures of my generation. Mind you, I was hesitant to call them Lola at first thinking that they didn’t want to hear any branding that would reveal their ages. When I called the lady at the far right lola, she promptly insisted not to call her that way. So I courteously asked, “Ano po ang gusto nyong itawag ko sa inyo? (How would you like me to call you?)” “Tita nalang,” she said. Then all of them laughed vigorously while telling me to have their pictures publicized. (I hope they know how to blog and use the internet too for them to see this.)

Our Lady of Peace and Good Voyage Shrine

Cathedral’s Altar

When I reached the church’s purlieu, I learned that a mass would be held at 7am. One thing that was very obvious at the church’s facade was a tarpaulin draped above the cathedral’s door. The Catholic church’s position on RH Bill was screaming before anyone’s eyes.

The Catholic Bishop Conference of the Philippines (CBCP) clamors for massive support of all catholic devotees and non-devotees alike to exterminate the bill ever since it reached the Congress. Being a staunch supporter of RH Bill and a pro-life at the same time, I wouldn’t be swayed by lectures and harangues offered by any officials of the Catholic church. Moreover, I would prefer not to discuss my stance with someone whose mind is closed or narrow that could bar even the most fluid and acceptable reasons I would deliver.

I learned to respect the opposition of the Catholic church, even if it sometimes draws me to annoyance whenever the issue is being brought up during sermons. In a country where democracy reigns, everybody has its place where, when and how he would fight for his advocacies. However, it should be bounded under the rule of law. So when priests use the sermons and seminars to encourage believers to join their stand, I let them do it—it’s their avenue to fight for what they believe in. But I cried foul when I heard of the news just recently that two priests from Baguio and Dagupan forced RH Bill supporters to get out of the church. In case it was said before me, I didn’t know how I would react. But one thing is for sure, I wouldn’t do the same as what Carlos Celdran did when he portrayed Damaso in a mass held at Manila Cathedral last year.

Tempting lechon

Suman

Different flavors of cashew

I had a glimpse of the town’s other side outside Antipolo Cathedral. Like other towns and cities in the country, Antipolo has also delicacies and products where locals are proud of. Two of them are suman (rice cake steamed in coconut or banana leaves) and kasoy (cashew seed). These products are very visible in front of the churches, markets, and in areas where people usually go.

Cafeteria

I started looking for a place to eat to please my churning stomach at 7:30am. I wanted to try something native in the place, new, and palatable. The environment gave me a feisty delight as I searched for food in different stalls located at the right side of the cathedral. There were two food booths selling lechon in various servings. Having lechon for breakfast was very inviting but they only give take-out orders. I immediately let go of my cravings and proceeded to cafeteria.

Warning: before I reached the cafeteria area, I had to brave stores of sweet products piled up on the pavement. Sellers were very aggressive to the point that they mobbed me in cluster (Imagine yourself being surrounded by four merchants forcefully convincing you to buy their goods). I easily got annoyed because I felt being bullied by some of them. I pushed myself away from the place and ended taking breakfast at Jollibee.

Via Dolorosa

Entrance to the sacred place

Ten minutes following my breakfast, I traversed the road going to Via Dolorosa after being informed by a tricycle driver that it’s one of the tourist destinations in Antipolo. Since I had the whole morning for myself, I went off to see it. Via Dolorosa showcases the reenactment of the 14 Stations of the Cross. It is a very sacred and quiet place that would certainly fit for anyone searching for inner contentment. Its seclusion along with the panoramic view of the whole Metro Manila makes up its entirety.

Although my Via Dolorosa visit was worthwhile, I still capped my Saturday morning lamenting on what I had witnessed in Antipolo… (see my next post)