Reclaim the Grandeur of Hinulugang Taktak

If I were only speaking before the people of the community, that day would have turned me into a furious politician ranting at my constituents, commanding them to execute an all-out effort to put back the glory of the contaminated falls, or worst, I could have vehemently ordered law violators to be placed behind bars. If it was an election season and I was attending a campaign rally, I could have promised the locals that I would reclaim the lost wonder of the community and convinced them that I am the answer to their seemingly endless misery. If I were invited to be a guest speaker or just an ordinary citizen speaking before the crowd, that day would have made me the best or otherwise; some could have praised or abhorred me after a long speech emanated from rage and lamentation.

There were only two resounding words running in my mind when I finally faced Hinulugang TaktakDisappointment and Hope.

I had read a lot of not-so-good reviews about Hinulugang Taktak, I even watched an interview of a local on a major TV station narrating how it transformed into a huge drainage area, but that was years ago. Prior to my visit, I was thinking that maybe the local government, Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Tourism (DOT), and the residents had done a long way to bring back the glory of the waterfalls. Yet, I was taken aback when the truth slapped me hard that it is dying.

Pathway to the waterfalls

I started the day with a mantra of not leaving Antipolo without visiting Hinulugang Taktak. It only entailed 5-10 minutes from Antipolo cathedral to reach this famous attraction in the city.

The rummaging sounds of the waterfalls could be heard at the entrance of the park. It seemed to entice me to come nearer so I rushed inside and asked one of the guards if I could take a dip in the falls. She looked surprised with my question before she gave her skeptical nod. Not minding her expressions, I giggly jumped on the park’s cemented stairs down. Truly, it was a beautiful view from afar.

Hinulugang Taktak. See the falls’ catch basin? No. It’s not water, but bubbles of detergent soap

Laundry waste

How would you feel if you want to hug someone who is in dire need of comfort but you just can’t because he/she pushes you away? This was how I felt upon seeing Hinulugang Taktak for the first time. Given that it was my first time see it, the waterfalls wanted me away in an instant due to its strong and unpleasant smell.

The waters flowing from the cliff would shift into a massive formation of bubbles at the basin which brought me to realization that inhabitants around the river have turned it into a giant laundry area. And this was just an addition to the garbage heaping at the right part of the basin facing the falls.

I moved towards the direction where the water flows and the horrendous situation of Hinulugang Taktak smashed me more — from crystal white waters it transforms into a murky odorous mire. I couldn’t contain what I just saw making my knees weak when I walked to the other side of the park.

Murky waters from the falls

Public pool

Picnic area

(Important note: I had a conversation with Juan when I was here. Juan is not the real name of the person. It doesn’t also give a hint about his gender. This post could be misinterpreted by narrow-minded individuals so I’m saving the person from their punitive and condemnatory comments. And please do not create a room for misunderstanding and hyperbole on this post.)

I then went back to Juan and asked him about the situation of Taktak. According to him, it was totally different before (exactly the same testimony of people living in Antipolo). He said that it started to show off unpleasant smell in 2006, and from then its condition got worse until waste from detergent soap became evident. “Unti-unti itong  bumaho at dumami nang dumami ang bula habang lumilipas ang taon,”  Juan sadly recalled while blaming the informal settlers living beside the river and those who didn’t show care for it. He also couldn’t hide his disappointment to some local government leaders who only watched Taktak perish.

Our small conversation went well and I thanked him for being very accommodating. Before it ended, Juan added that a meeting of all concerned barangays in the area was held recently to make collaborative efforts in saving Taktak. It somehow made the weight I was carrying a little lighter while hoping to see development in the area on my next visit.

Seeing a dying wonder broke me into pieces. One thing I always aspire for each time I take paces on familiar and unfamiliar tracks is to see nature’s affluence at its best shape. However, I came to accept that this world doesn’t only exude good things. I also learned to admit that there are places that wouldn’t meet my expectations because some are either overrated, cloned in pictures, or plainly descent to not-my-taste lists.

This recent jaunt to Hinulugang Taktak was a revelation to our gradually devastating environment due to people’s lack of discipline. If we didn’t encourage a community of concerned individuals to save it, we would see day by day that before’s beauty is now’s ugly truth. We all shall do out part in taking care of what’s left for us to enjoy. And preserving this abundant world doesn’t need too much lecturing, in only needs little actions for us to start something big. We know where to start. So We Must Act Now!

5 thoughts on “Reclaim the Grandeur of Hinulugang Taktak

  1. I study just one ride from Hinulugang Taktak and live just in Cainta. I’ve never been to the place and I’ve heard so much about the falls and how its destroyed na. I really hope they do something about it. Sayang naman kasi ang ganda pa naman sana niya.

  2. what a sad story about hinulugang taktak BUT i still have high hopes that it will reclaim its natural beauty. lets all help them by sharing this blog…post it so everybody would know.

    to the blogger, if it is a book im reading, i must say, its turning me on. it tells me to move from one page to another. very good ang galing ng pagkakasulat.

Leave a comment